German
English
 

EMITEC - Introduction

Decades of research had gone into the development of metal substrates as a basic component of catalytic converters long before ceramic catalysts were presented as a solution. In 1929 Joseph Christie Whitney Frazer from Baltimore, USA, recognised the advantages of metal and patented his designs in the same year.

Persuaded by the enormous benefits of metal catalysts, many car makers supported the development of steel foils for substrates over several decades. All attempts failed at the point of implementation until a group of engineers at Interatom, a Siemens subsidiary, with specialist knowledge of joining high-strength materials finally met with success.

 

Metal (shown on the left) and ceramics dominate the market for basic catalyst components (monoliths). However, Metalit® catalysts offer many advantages, such as lower heat capacity and lower exhaust backpressure, and are up to 30 per cent more efficient under similar parameters thanks to turbulence-generating profiles.

 

Contact

Continental Emitec GmbH

Hauptstraße 128

53797 Lohmar

Germany

Tel.: +49 (0) 2246 / 109-0

Fax: +49 (0) 2246 / 109-109

07L4FMcontact[at]continental-corporation.com

GoogleMaps

German
English
 

EMITEC - Einleitung

Der Metallträger als Basis für den Auto-Katalysator hat Generationen von Ingenieuren beschäftigt, lange bevor der Keramikträger als Lösung präsentiert wurde. Bereits 1929 erkannte Joseph Christie Whitney Frazer aus Baltimore/USA die Vorteile des Metallträgers und ließ im selben Jahr seine diesbezüglichen Entwicklungen patentieren.

Da die Automobilindustrie von den großen Vorteilen der Metall-Katalysatoren überzeugt war, unterstützten zahlreiche Automobilhersteller über Jahrzehnte hinweg alle Versuche, Stahlfolien als Träger zu verwenden. Viele Ingenieure scheiterten an der Umsetzung. Erst Mitarbeiter der Siemens-Tochter Interatom, welche sich mit dem Fügen hochfester Werkstoffe bestens auskannten, hatten schließlich den gewünschten Erfolg. Daraus folgte schließlich die Gründung der EMITEC Gesellschaft für Emissionstechnologie mbH.

Die beiden Werkstoffvarianten Metall (links im Bild) und Keramik dominieren den Markt der Grundbauelemente (Monolithe) für Katalysatoren. METALIT®-Katalysatoren weisen allerdings zahlreiche Vorteile auf, wie eine niedrigere Wärmekapazität, geringeren Abgasgegendruck, und sie sind dank ihrer Turbulenz erzeugenden Profile sehr viel leistungsfähiger - bis zu 30 % bei vergleichbaren Parametern.